Should I Take a Plea Deal in My Colorado DUI Case?

busines Anderson & Carnahan

If you are facing DUI (driving under influence) or DWAI (driving while ability impaired) charges in Colorado, it is likely that you will be offered a plea deal by the prosecution. While the possibility of avoiding the hassles of a trial might sound tempting to you, you should never, ever agree to a plea deal […]

Beating an Article 15 Offense in Colorado

Article 15

An Article 15 or “nonjudicial punishment” (NJP) refers to a form of administrative discipline that commanders may use to address Article 15 alleged transgressions of the Uniform Code of Military Justice (UCMJ). In case of minor violations of the UCMJ, commanders must decide whether to offer an Article 15 or recommend the case for court-martial. […]

Am I Under Investigation

Criminal investigation scene

We have all seen numerous television shows that portray how law enforcement agencies conduct covert investigations. The idea of being a subject of real-life federal or state criminal investigation might seem far-fetched to most people, but it is not as uncommon as you might think.  If you find out that you are under scrutiny by […]

Types of Chemical Tests For DUI in Colorado

chemical test for dui

The prosecution’s case against a defendant charged with a DUI in Colorado will hinge on the strength of the evidence. More specifically, the prosecution will have to prove whether the BAC level of the defendant was above the legal limit when they were pulled over. Two types of chemical tests are used to assess a […]

False Positives on a DUI Test

arrested for dui

Motorists who are pulled over due to suspected DUI are typically tested using a breathalyzer machine or a field kit. Many law enforcement personnel rely on these machines to establish whether a driver has reached or surpassed the legal blood alcohol content limit of 0.08 percent. When the BAC level is above 0.08 percent, the […]

The COVID-19 Pandemic Should Mean Fewer Drunk Drivers in Colorado

Drunk Driving

In Colorado, nearly 26,000 people are arrested every year for DUI (driving under the influence of alcohol) or DUID (driving under the influence of drugs) offenses. Just because you have been charged with a DUI in Colorado does not mean that you are guilty of the offense. All it means is that you need a […]

What Makes a DUI Aggravated in Colorado?

Colorado DUI Lawyer

Aggravation is a common human emotion. Your children or spouse can aggravate you. Your job can cause you to feel aggravated. But the idea of being “aggravated” is also a legal term. Legally, you’ll see the word often combined with driving under the influence (DUI). A DUI charge means that you’ve been caught driving with […]

Can I Legally Drive After Smoking Marijuana in Colorado?

Chemical test for DUI

In the state of Colorado, the recreational use of marijuana isn’t just decriminalized, it’s legal . So long as a user is only in possession of one ounce of marijuana or less, and so long as they are at least 21 years of age, the use of marijuana is not against the law. (Possession of […]

What is a Class 2 Felony in Colorado?

Felony in Colorado

In Colorado, the most serious crime that you can be charged with is a felony. The state divides felonies into six classifications from Class 1 to Class 6, with a Class 1 being the most serious. So, if you’ve been charged with a Class 2 felony, your situation may be dire, and it’s vital that […]

Driving Under the Influence of Drugs in CO – What You Need to Know

Driving under the influence of drugs

Driving may be a necessary activity for many, but it can also be a very dangerous one. As such, the state has put in place a number of laws that are designed to deter unsafe driving and reduce the risk of accidents. When a traffic law is violated, penalties can range from a warning or […]